AW Service Pension Records

What folllows is an exact transcript of a xerox copy of a Pension report concerning A. W. McCarty, dated August 7th 1880.  A printed form, 1 page, legal size, with printed text in a script font (here reproduced as Times New Roman italic).  Line breaks are as in the original.  Underlined blanks in the form were filled in by hand and reproduced  here as Lucida Handwriting italic. The struckout portion is struck out on the original by a “Z” shaped line, beginning at the words “on the….” And ending at “during the war,” the first time that phrase occurs in the document. Capitalization, punctuation, spelling & abbreviations as original. Transcribed 11/20/2001 by Jack (John L.) Schmidt, GG’son of A. W. McCarty [Lawrence, Marion G (McCarty) Schmidt]


Adjutant General’s Office

Washington, D.C., August 7th, 1880




I have the honor to acknowledge the receipt from your Office of application for Pension No.    282.596, and to return it herewith, with such information as is furnished by the files of this Office.


It appears from the Rolls on file in this Office that      .                 Arthur W. NcCarty was enrolled on the _____                             day of _________, 186  , at ___________, in Co. _________                       _____________Regiment of __________________Volunteers, to serve ______ years or during the war  and mustered into service as a     Private       on the       3             day of      Dec,     1861, at    McConnellsville, in Co.     “E”      78        Regiment of             Ohio      Volunteers, to serve                3            years or during the war. On the Muster Roll of Co. “E”  of that Regiment for the months of      from Enlistment to Dec. 31, 1861,            he is reported    Present.   Same until July & Aug ’63; On   furlough  since July25/63,   abs  without     leave since August 24. 1863.

                     Sept,  Oct/63   present.    Reenlisted      as   a  Vet.   Vol.  Jan5/64   for  3 years. Mar &    Apr/64 absent   with   leave   since   April   7/64    May &  June  64   present. Same until Mar &   Apr/65 reported  Drummed   out    April 29, 1865   with

{INITS}              loss of all pay & allowances by order G.C.M No3. May & June/65 S.O..270  sentence  C.M. revoked being reinstated by order of the President, Promoted 1st Lieut. May31/65 & transferred to Co “K”. He was  discharged to date May 31.1865 for promotion to  1st Lieut, Co. “K”, Same  regiment S.O. o.144, 17th Army Corps June 6. 1865.


                                            I am, sir, very respectfully,  

Your obedient servant,

                                                                            (indecipherable signature)

                                                                                                Assistant Adjutant General







The Commissioner of Pensions                                                   9005.B.AGO (???)1880  

                                Washington, D. C.       

A.                            DECLARATION FOR ORIGINAL INVALID PENSION                                A.


To be executed before a court of record or some officer thereof having custody of its seal.


State of Nebraska     ss:

County of Adams      .}


On this  21st  day of April , A.D. one thousand eight hundred and seventy-nine    personally appeared before me,     Judge        of the       County         , a court of record within and for the county and State aforesaid,  Arthur W. McCarty        , aged  36  years, a resident of the      Town      of        Mayflower      , county of        Adams          State of     Nebraska       , who, being duly sworn according to law, declares that he is the identical          Arthur  W.  McCarty        who was ENROLLED on the       3rd        day of     December    1861 in company “ E ”  of the    78th     regiment of     Ohio Inft Vol  commanded by          Capt. T. M. Stevenson           and was honorably DISCHARGED at Louisville Ky             on the             14th      day of           July         ,  1865;  that his personal description is as follows: Age, 36 years; height,  feet 6 ½ inches; complexion, fair; hair,       Dark      ; eyes,     Grey   ; That while a member of the organization aforesaid, in the service and in the line of his duty at from Washington to Louisville Kentucky                            on or about the    18  day of june , 1865 , he [following is subscript below printed line] (here state name or nature of disease, or the location of wound or injury. If disabled by disease, state fully its causes; if by wound or injury, the precise manner in which received.)           while     enroute        from Washington to Louisville   Kentucky    he    bruised    his    left   writs in    such    a    manner   as   to   cause a   large   swelling,   which was    so      severe      that     he     did     no    service     thereafter. Said     disability      still     continues      to   exist    to    disable him to a considerable extent.

That he was treated in hospitals as follows:          In   no   hospital but was treated by    Regimental   Surgeon and Hospital Steward at Louisville Kentucky  in June 1865.

He has not been employed in the military or naval service otherwise than as stated above [following is subscript below printed line] (here state what the service was, whether prior or subsequent to that stated above, and the date at which it began and ended..) He has b een in no other service.

That since leaving the service this applicant has resided in the      no   steady   locality —in the state of_________________,  and his occupation has been that of a Sample Salesman office clerk, and farmer.

That prior to his entry into the service above he was a man of good, sound, physical health, being when  enrolled a Student.  That he is now badly  disabled from obtaining his subsistance by manual labor by reason of his injuries, above described, received in the service of the United States; and the he there-fore makes this declaration for the purpose of being placed on the invalid pension-roll of the United States.

He hereby appoints, with full power of substitution and revocation, That   he  employs no ofAttorney,but will prosecute, state ofhis own claim, his true and lawfull attorney to prosecute his claim. That he has  not  received  nor  applied for a pension.    That his POST OFFICE ADDRESS is   Mayflower         ,  county of    Adams

State of    Nebraska.


Claimant’s signature: Arthur W. McCarty

Attest:   [illegible signature]

            Benjamin  [ F. Hilton?}